25% OFF First Invoice

Code at Checkout: NETHER

How to Reset the Nether in Minecraft

Last modified on Aug 10, 2020 in Control Panel

mc head By David

Overview

One of the most thrilling aspects of playing Minecraft is discovering the Nether. The nether is completely different from the overworld as it introduces new mobs, blocks, and a totally separate feel to the world. With this seemingly endless world type, exploration is limitless. Although the nether is an infinite world type, many server owners will want to reset it as after players have explored it too much, you will start finding constantly explored fortresses, valuable blocks mined, and many player-built bases.

Once the Nether has been over-explored, players generally will get bored of it. For this reason, server owners may want to reset the Nether to allow the players a refreshed experience.

Another reason that a server owner may want to reset is for nether updates, such as the 1.16 Minecraft update. If you host with Apex, you can easily reset your nether with a single click button on our game panel. We will walk you through exactly how to do that! We will also be walking you through how you can reset the nether manually.

Please note that this only works for Minecraft Java Edition and not Bedrock Edition.
 

How to Reset the Nether

Panel

  1. Head to the Apex Panel and stop your server.
  2. Scroll down until you find the “World” field.
  3. In this field you are going to see two buttons. “Change World” and “Reset Nether”. Go ahead and click “Reset Nether”.
  4. Type “reset” and press “Reset Nether”.
  5. Start your server back up and your nether should now be reset!

 

Manually resetting the Nether

The instructions below are assuming you are running Vanilla Minecraft. If you are running Craftbukkit, Spigot, or Paper your nether folder may be placed in the main directory. The name will be the “Yourworldname_nether”. You can select and delete that folder to reset your nether.

  1. Head to the game panel and stop the server.
  2. Scroll to the “World” field and take note of the world name.
  3. To the left of the panel, click on “FTP File Access”.
  4. Using the information on this page, connect to a third-party FTP program such as FileZilla or WinSCP. You can find our guide on doing so here.
  5. Once connected, locate your world folder. The name of the folder should be the same one set in the world field.
  6. Open the folder and locate “DIM-1”.
  7. Right-click this folder and press delete. Wait for it to be fully deleted.
  8. Head back to the game panel and start your server.

 

Common Issues

The Nether didn’t reset after deleting the folder
If you have deleted the DIM-1 folder and the nether is the same, it is likely that you removed a nether folder from the wrong world or that you are running Spigot, Bukkit, or Paper. Firstly, check the world name you have set in the world field and make sure that it is the same as the world you were modifying. Also, remember that if you are running Spigot, Bukkit, or Paper you delete the “worldname_nether” folder and not the “DIM-1”.

Related Content

Upload a Bedrock World
How To Restore Your Minecraft World From a Backup
How To Reset Your Minecraft World & Start a New World
How To Add a World To Your Java Minecraft Server