25% OFF First Invoice

Code at Checkout: CAVES

How to Change the Save Slot on The Forest Servers

in The Forest

mc head By Noah

How to change the save slot on The Forest servers

Overview

As we continue to play games, we all end up experiencing the same thing sooner or later. You are in a single-player game exploring some caves or building your latest masterpiece when disaster strikes, or maybe you have been playing co-op with a friend and want to start your own unique save for when they aren’t around. Luckily in most Singleplayer games, you are able to load up one of your extra saves to fit the occasion, but multiplayer users aren’t quite as lucky. The developers of The Forest decided to break the mold and bring this functionality to multiplayer servers too. You are able to create multiple saves on your server and switch to them whenever you want. Here is a quick guide on how to change your save slot with Apex Hosting.

Changing the Save Slot

Our control panel makes switching the save slot quick and easy. Here is a quick walkthrough of how to do it.

  1. Navigate to your server’s control panel and login.
  2. Stop the server by clicking on the red Stop button before making any further changes.
  3. Open the Backups tab in the menu on the left side of the page.
    always make a backup before making changes to the server
  4. Once you are on the Backups page, click on the green Create Backup button. This will ensure you can undo any changes that may have been made
    Change setting in the customizations tab
  5. Return to your server’s main panel page, then click on the Customizations tab in the menu on the left side of the page.
    Load up your preferred save here
  6. Locate the Save Slot box and use the dropdown menu to choose your save.
    Make sure to pick the right one
  7. If you want to continue an existing game, change the Init Type option to Continue Current Save. If you want to start a new game choose the New Game option. Please note this will overwrite any existing game saved to that slot.

Once you have changed the Save Slot and Init Type to suit your needs, return to the main page and restart your server. Your selected save will be loaded once the server has finished starting.

Please note that the Init Type will be used by the server every time it restarts. If you are creating a new save, be sure to change it later or your game will be overwritten every time you restart the server.

Conclusion

With that, your chosen save slot is now up and running on your server. You can quickly and easily change your save slot at any time. This is great for hosting multiple saves with different groups, or for backing up your progress before picking a fight with one of the boss creatures. With the help of this flexible save system, you and your players can change the game or reset your progress without any hassle.

Common Issues

The server is creating a new game
Double-check to make sure the Init Type was set to Continue Current Save in the Customizations tab. If it is set to New Game, the server will create a brand new save and overwrite your existing save.

I accidentally deleted one of my saves
You can restore your save using the backup you created at the start of this guide. Stop your server, then navigate to the Backups tab again. Click on the blue Restore button on the right-hand side of the screen. The server will restore your files back to the way they were.

Useful Links

How to Add Server Admins
How to Connect to a The Forest Server
How to Set a Server Password

Start Your The forest Server

Get started with your own the forest server in 5 min and start trying out these great features.