25% OFF First Invoice

Code at Checkout: CAVES

How to Use Server Profiles

in Control Panel

mc head By Dalton Whalen

Server Profiles

Overview

With so many games and server versions to choose from, it can be difficult to pick which ones to try out. In most cases, switching a game may overwrite important game files, requiring you to backup any desired files ahead of time. This is no longer an issue with our new server profiles function, allowing you to create and switch between multiple instances of your game panel. With this functionality, you can try out other games and versions without the risk of losing your existing files. With full customization of the name, description, file path, and game on each profile, this feature will completely simplify your server experience. We have created this Apex Hosting guide to assist you in getting started and understanding the ins and outs of the server profiles.
 

Migrating your Server Files

  1. Navigate to your Apex Server Panel, then stop the server.
  2. In the left-hand menu, select Server Profiles.
  3. When the next page opens, you should see a migration prompt.
    Server Profiles Migrate
  4. Simply press Migrate Server to begin the process.
  5. The page should reload and provide access to the new profiles page!

 

Using Server Profiles

Now that the server profile page is migrated and ready to be used, a variety of new tools can be used to make your life easier.
 

Creating a New Profile

Server Profiles Creation

A new profile can be created at any time by pressing the Create Profile button in the top-left of the page. Once done, a new prompt will open, allowing you to enter a name, description, and directory. In addition, you can also choose whether to auto activate your profile. Simply fill out the desired information, then press Save.

Note: The auto activate feature will switch your active profile as soon as you press Save. If you disable this option, you can enable your profile later at any time.
 

Switching Profiles

Now that you have access to at least two server profiles, you can now switch between them at any time. This will allow you to easily switch between multiple games and configurations on your panel without losing progress in your existing games and worlds.

Server Profiles Activate
Server Profiles Prompt

To activate a profile, simply visit the Profile page, locate your profile, and press the activate button. A prompt will open, asking if you are ready to switch to the profile. When you are prepared, press the “Activate Profile” button to begin the switch. After a few moments, you should return to the panel and see your new profile be accessible.

 

Editing Profile Details

Server Profiles Edit

In some cases, you may wish to adjust the details of a server profile, especially the default profile that was created after migrating. This is achieved by pressing the Edit your profile button on the desired server profile. A page similar to the creation page will open, allowing you to enter any name and description you wish to use. Like before, just press Save for these changes to take effect.
 

Opening the Files Directly

Server Profiles View Folder

With each profile being contained in its own folder, it can become slightly difficult to track down each profile folder within the FTP File Access. This is made easy by using the folder icon near the edit button. Upon pressing this, you will be prompted to log into your FTP files as usual, but will then immediately be in the subfolder for your profile, providing easy access to the game files.

Note: This behavior is also reflected by logging into the FTP File Access directly from the main panel page. If you wish to view all profile folders, simply press the “Up” button to access them all. Your active profile folder will be marked with a small icon, allowing you to easily find
 

Deleting a Profile

Server Profiles Delete Prompt

In some situations, you may wish to delete an entire profile altogether. There are many reasons for this, whether it’s to start completely fresh with a new directory name or simply because you are at the max profile amount. To remove a profile, simply press the X icon under the actions tab. This will remove all files from this profile, so ensure they are downloaded ahead of time. When you are ready, press the Delete button in the prompt to remove the profile and all files.
 

Conclusion

Server profiles can completely redefine your server experience, allowing you to keep existing files from existing games or versions to try out others. If you want to try out a vanilla snapshot without losing your existing world or plugins, simply create a new server profile for it. This can also help to run multiple instances of the same game, but configured differently to allow separate players to join. With so many combinations, your customization options are near-limitless. With this newfound information on how to use server profiles, you can jump right in and experience these great features.
 

Helpful Links

How to Connect with FTP
Version List

Start Your Minecraft Server

Get started with your own minecraft server in 5 min and start trying out these great features.