For those who want to upload their existing world to a Valheim server, you’re in luck! There’s a straightforward way to do that, which will only take a few minutes. This process involves you preparing and locating the world folder, uploading it to the server files, then activating the world. Since the release of 1.0, there have been changes to the file save structure. In this Apex Hosting guide, we’ll show you how to upload existing worlds to your Valheim server 👏
World Preparation
- Launch Valheim and click
Start Gamein the menu. - Select
Manage Savesat the bottom.
- Click the
Worldsbutton at the top. - Select your world, then press
Move to Localat the bottom.
- If it says
Move to Cloud, then you don’t need to do anything.
⚠️ If you have a world that was created before Valheim 1.0, load it and save. Afterwards, you must ensure that it’s moved to your local saves folder. This process cannot be reversed.
Now you must locate the world files on your computer. Follow the instructions:
- Press the
Windows Key + Ron your keyboard. - Copy and paste:
%APPDATA%\..\LocalLow
- Click
OKto open the file explorer window. - Navigate to
IronGate > Valheim > worlds_local
- Locate your world save folder. Make sure the name matches.
Uploading Your World
- Head towards your Apex server panel and stop the server.
- Navigate to
File Management > FTP File Accesson the left.
- Login with your FTP password.
- Drag + drop your world save folder in the
worlds_localdirectory.
- Wait for everything to upload.
- Return to the main panel, and click
Change World
- Enter the name of your uploaded world.
- Click
Change World, thenRestart Nowwhen prompted.
- Join the server to confirm this worked.
FAQ – Valheim Uploading Worlds
Why am I not seeing a world folder in worlds_local?
If your existing world was using an older version of Valheim, pre-1.0, then it’s saved differently. You must load and save the world, then ensure you “Move to Local” to automatically convert it. This process cannot be undone, so we recommend taking backups on your computer.
Why isn’t my server using my uploaded world?
Double-check that you entered the same exact name in the server panel when changing worlds. The name needs to be identical to the world save you uploaded in the FTP panel. Otherwise, it will generate and use a new default world. Otherwise, you might have not fully uploaded the world.
Why is my world upload not working in FTP?
If your world save is too large, then the web-based FTP panel will bottleneck. In this situation, we strongly recommend using an external program to access the server files so you can do the transfer. Click here to learn more about that process.



























