Posted: Feb 1, 2020 in News & Changelog
Today we are happy to say that we’ve made a bit of a change to how backup and world restoration works. This is the first step in a full overhaul of this system to make sure that it’s the best that it can be! Let’s go over what has changed from the old system.
What’s different ?
With our old system you’d create a backup manually or automatically with a scheduled task. This currently will be remaining the same for the time being. However, when you wanted to restore that backup in order to do so you would first have to go into FTP File Access and rename the existing world folder to something else otherwise the backup wouldn’t restore because we didn’t want the backup system to overwrite your existing world. Now with the new system when restoring your world the system will automatically rename your existing world folder to worldname_old. This ensures that you don’t lose that existing world folder if you want to go back to it while restoring from that previous backup quickly and easily without having to manually rename the folder yourself.
Making Backups Even Better!
We have big plans for backups and we can’t announce any specifics at this time but we want to let you know that this is a core feature are currently working to greatly improve upon to make things even faster and easier to ensure you don’t lose that favorite map or build you worked so hard on. So be sure to keep an eye out for when we reveal what are development team has been working so hard to develop!
Until next time,